The Ersatz Elevator book review

ersatz elevator

The Ersatz Elevator is a pretty good book but also the turning point in the series where the books begin to become less funny, darker, and more serious.

Mostly, I have a good opinion about this book with only one complaint which is that most of the plot revolves around the Baudelaire’s finding the Quagmire triplets. Each chapter gives you the feeling that the three children will hit a new breakthrough on finding their friends (the Quagmire’s) which isn’t necessarily bad but gets kind of tiring after a while. It passes though.

Now that I’ve gotten past the DISLIKE (ugh) I can focus on my LIKE. So here it is: Even though the book isn’t as funny as the previous ones it’s still funny. Some dark humor is inserted and some not-so-dark humor is slipped in too. Take the cafe devoted entirely to fish, Cafe Salmonella. Don’t get it? I’ll tell you when your older. Another example is Gunther, Count Olaf’s new sinister disguise. Get my point: Among the bad stuff in the ersatz elevator . . .IT’S JUST COOL, OK!!!

Read it.

One thought on “The Ersatz Elevator book review

Leave a comment